Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Cherokee County Educational Foundation Awards $50K in Grants [1]

Cherokee County Educational Foundation Awards $50K in Grants [1]

The Cherokee County Educational Foundation helped celebrate the end of the school year by presenting Cherokee County School District teachers and support staff with $50,000 in grants!

The nonprofit organization, since its 2012 formation to raise funds for CCSD teachers, programs and schools, has awarded more than $1 Million in grants to support teaching and learning.

The foundation’s Classroom Impact Grants program offer competitive grants for projects costing up to $2,500, with a focus on new ideas for instruction that could be replicated throughout CCSD classrooms, media centers and schools.  The Rapid Grants program awards $500 grants to teachers and support staff for smaller projects and funds districtwide initiatives.  The presentations this week included $40,000 in Impact Grants to 21 teachers and $10,000 in Rapid Grants.

A foundation committee of at least five judges grades applications individually, and the scores are compiled and ranked to determine grant winners.  The number of grants awarded each year depends on fundraising efforts.  Funds are raised through Foundation events such as the annual Golf Classic and Celebration of Education Gala, as well as through direct donations.

“We’re so fortunate to see teachers’ dream projects become reality thanks to the support of our community through donations to the foundation,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Many of these projects pilot innovative ideas that then take flight in other classrooms and schools.  It’s an incredibly valuable investment in our teachers and our students, and we greatly appreciate the support.”   

Lisa Marie Haygood serves as executive director for the nonprofit organization, which is governed by a community board of directors.

“This organization of community volunteers each year diligently leads the effort to make sure our teachers get those additional resources they need to help our students do their best,” she said. “We continue to celebrate the innovation we see in our teachers, students, and community.  Without the outpouring of support, we would not be able to fulfill our mission.  This year was a tremendous success.”

Congratulations to the 2022 Classroom Impact Grants Winners:

Virginia “Ginny” Baldwin, R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy
Jennifer Campbell, Dean Rusk MS
Ty Casteel, Etowah HS
Jill Cole, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy
Brooke Dillon, Mill Creek MS
Nina Eidson, Knox ES STEM Academy
Jim Elder, Mill Creek MS
Adrianne Fagan, Woodstock HS
Jennifer Falco, E.T. Booth MS
Cathy Fernandez, E.T. Booth MS
Amanda Graves, E.T. Booth MS
Chelsea Leming, Indian Knoll ES
Denise Lewis, Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy
Sandy McPherson, Clayton ES
Sarah Munroe, Macedonia ES
Hillary Nichols, ACTIVE Academies – i-Grad Virtual Academy
Tina Plousis, Hickory Flat ES
Angela Topper, Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy
Keara Rubin, River Ridge HS
Lisa Spence, Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy
Amy Walker, Johnston ES

For more information, including how to make a donation, see the website at