Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD School Nurse Wins State Award and Educators, PTAs Win District Honors

CCSD School Nurse Wins State Award and Educators, PTAs Win District Honors

Georgia PTA Outstanding School Nurse award winner Amanda Fox of Liberty ES, top, and PTA District 13 award winners from left, Ayn McLaurin, Kelley Muller, Amanda Graves, Terry Strassner, Marissa Williams, Daniel Fuller, Todd Sharrock, Laura Akers, Todd Miller, Britton Goodloe, Ashley Kelsey, Ann Margaret Somers.

Cherokee County School District educators and volunteers were honored by the PTA with state and regional awards, with a school nurse earning a top statewide honor!

Liberty Elementary School Nurse Amanda Fox was named an Outstanding School Nurse winner for PTA District 13, which includes Cherokee and Forsyth Counties, and then advanced to earn the Georgia PTA statewide award!  The award honors school nurses for going above and beyond their duties.

“Congratulations to Nurse Amanda for this well-earned state recognition,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Our nurses play an incredibly important role for our schools from addressing students’ daily health needs to responding to medical emergencies involving students, staff or school visitors.  The Cherokee County PTA many years ago helped our school district begin its school nurse program, and our PTA volunteers have since continued to champion for our school nurses.”

Two other CCSD school nurses also earned District 13 Outstanding School Nurse awards: Ayn McLaurin of Mill Creek MS and Kelley Muller of Boston ES.

Three CCSD teachers were named District 13 Birney Butler Outstanding Educator award winners: media specialist Amanda Graves of E.T. Booth MS, social studies teacher Terry Strassner of River Ridge HS and media specialist Marissa Williams of Hickory Flat ES.  The award recognizes professional excellence and exemplary contributions to instructing students. 

Four CCSD principals earned District 13 Outstanding Principal awards: Arnold Mill ES Principal Daniel Fuller, E.T. Booth MS Principal Todd Sharrock, Johnston ES Principal Laura Akers and River Ridge HS Principal Todd Miller.  The honor recognizes principals or assistant principals for outstanding contributions to education.

CCSD also earned two District 13 Visionary Awards for Bascomb ES and Britton Goodloe and Mill Creek MS and Maggie Blackwell, Samantha Daugherty, Amanda Hoarell, Ashley Kelsey and Ann Margaret Somers.  The award recognizes educators and parents for dedicated service to students and outstanding collaboration through PTA.

These Georgia PTA and PTA District 13 individual award winners will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower at the September School Board meeting.

“Congratulations to all of these honorees and thank you to our local PTA leaders for nominating them for these honors,” Dr. Hightower said.  “These awards are another way our PTA supports our outstanding teachers, support staff and leaders.  The PTA is our oldest and strongest partner, and we’re so grateful for all its members do -- from volunteering in schools to fundraising to advocacy.  Congratulations also to our PTA units on their awards in recognition for their exceptional service to our schools.  Thank you for all you do!”

School PTA units were honored with various awards for their school and outreach activities, community partnerships and reaching membership goals.  

Two CCSD school PTAs earned Best Idea Awards from Georgia PTA: Carmel ES and River Ridge HS!  

The top PTA unit honor, Outstanding Local Unit, recognizes success in all areas.  CCSD PTA units that earned first-place awards are: Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Johnston ES, Mill Creek MS and River Ridge HS.  Units that earned second place are: Arnold Mill ES, Bascomb ES and E.T. Booth MS.

Seven school PTAs earned Model PTA status for maintaining exceptionally high standards of excellence: Bascomb ES, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, E.T. Booth MS, Johnston ES, Little River ES, Mill Creek MS and River Ridge HS.

Seven school PTAs earned Hearst Family – School Partnership Awards for excellence in bringing the school and community together to support student success: for achievement in all six National PTA Standards, Johnston ES, Mill Creek MS and River Ridge HS; for the Student Success standard, Arnold Mill ES and E.T. Booth MS; for the Sharing Power standard, Liberty ES; and for the Collaborating with the Community standard, Bascomb ES.

Three school PTAs earned Community Partnership Awards for success in creating successful community partnerships: Liberty ES, Little River ES and Mill Creek MS.

Ten school PTAs earned Oaktree Awards for 100% school staff participation in PTA: Arnold Mill ES, Clayton ES, Free Home ES, Freedom MS, Hickory Flat ES, Holly Springs ES STEM Academy, Indian Knoll ES, Johnston ES, Knox ES STEM Academy and Liberty ES. 

Three levels of District 13 membership awards were presented: Visionary (more than 400 members by Aug. 31), Pace Setters (more than 300 members by Aug. 31) and Early Bird (more than 200 members by Sept. 30).

Visionary membership award winners are: Avery ES, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Hickory Flat ES, Liberty ES, Little River ES, Mill Creek MS, River Ridge HS and Woodstock ES.

Pace Setters membership award winners are: Arnold Mill ES, Avery ES, Bascomb ES, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Creekland MS, Dean Rusk MS, E.T. Booth MS, Hickory Flat ES, Indian Knoll ES, Johnston ES, Knox ES STEM Academy, Liberty ES, Little River ES, Mill Creek MS, River Ridge HS and Woodstock ES.

Early Bird membership award winners are: Arnold Mill ES, Avery ES, Ball Ground ES STEM Academy, Bascomb ES, Carmel ES, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Clayton ES, Creekland MS, Creekview HS, Dean Rusk MS, E.T. Booth MS, Liberty ES, Little River ES, Macedonia ES, Mill Creek MS, Mountain Road ES, Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy, R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy, River Ridge HS, Sixes ES, Woodstock ES, Woodstock MS and Woodstock HS.

The new PTSA unit at ACTIVE Academies also received special recognition with the New Charter Award.  ACTIVE includes ACE Academy, Cherokee College and Career Academy (C3), i-Grad Virtual Academy and Transition Academy.