Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Elementary School Teachers Complete Dyslexia Endorsement

CCSD Elementary School Teachers Complete Dyslexia Endorsement

Cherokee County School District partnered with North Georgia RESA to provide a cohort for select CCSD teachers to participate in the Dyslexia Endorsement. The Dyslexia Endorsement was created in response to Senate Bill 48 to equip teachers with the knowledge of the Characteristics of Dyslexia and the ability to respond to students’ needs. For the 2023-23 cohort, elementary schools were invited to send one teacher through the 9-month-long endorsement program, which was led by Dr. Jennifer Reynolds, CCSD Learning Support Specialist.

Congratulations to the following participants for the completion of the Dyslexia Endorsement program: Erin Delaney, Arnold Mill Elementary School; Taylor Wigington, Avery Elementary School; Julie Miles, Ball Ground STEM Academy; Casi Schmidt, Bascomb Elementary School; Erica Fey, Boston Elementary School; Andrea Trella,  Carmel Elementary School; Kara Harville, Clark Creek STEM Academy; Kari Brooks, Clayton Elementary School; Leigh Schwarzman, Free Home Elementary School; Melissa Manley, Hasty Fine Arts Academy; Danielle Gantt, Hickory Flat Elementary School; Rebecca Thurman, Holly Springs STEM Academy; Tara Tucci, Johnston Elementary School; Mendy Bixler, Knox STEM Academy; Lyndsey Bevill, Liberty Elementary School; Kinsley Welch, Macedonia Elementary School; Dr. Lorie Mick, Mountain Road Elementary School; Meg Martin, Mountain Road Elementary; Leanna Schneider, Oak Grove STEAM Academy; Amy Thompson, R. M. Moore STEM Academy; Jeannie Cordaro, Sixes Elementary School; and Brenda Palmer, Woodstock Elementary School

The Dyslexia Endorsement will be offered again in 2023-24 with an emphasis on middle and high schools.