Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Announces 2023 School Teacher of the Year Winners

CCSD Announces 2023 School Teacher of the Year Winners

Congratulations to the Cherokee County School District’s 2023 School Teachers of the Year winners!

Every school year, each CCSD school is asked to select its own Teacher of the Year.  These school-level winners now are eligible for the honor of Cherokee County School District 2023 Teacher of the Year. 

The districtwide competition will be judged by a panel of retired educators and community partners based on applications submitted by the school-level winners.  The four finalists for CCSD that they select will be announced next month by the Superintendent of Schools.  The finalists, along with all school winners, will be honored at the Legacy Makers: CCSD Teachers of the Year Celebration in March ... at which the CCSD 2023 Teacher of the Year will be announced.  The overall CCSD winner will be entered into the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition.

“Our Teacher of the Year program honors the best of the best by recognizing educators who are selected by their peers as role models for their profession,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “The School Board joins me in thanking these top teachers for the outstanding service they give to our students and our community.  We see a common thread in our honorees each year – they not only demonstrate daily excellence in classroom instruction, but they also show great care for their students, colleagues and school community as a whole.  Congratulations on this recognition and thank you for all that you do!”

The annual Legacy Makers celebration, and gifts presented to the honorees, are sponsored by Presenting Sponsors: Cherokee County Educational Foundation, Credit Union of Georgia, Northside Hospital Cherokee and Shottenkirk Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram of Canton.  Additional financial and in-kind sponsorship opportunities are available; interested businesses and organizations are encouraged to please contact Penny Dempsey at or 770.479.1871.


CCSD’s 2023 School Teachers of the Year

ACTIVE Academies: Julia Burks

Arnold Mill ES: Jill Dittus

Avery ES: Rachel Blackman

Ball Ground ES STEM Academy: Amy Youngblood

Bascomb ES: Winn Ward

Boston ES: Hannah Rogé

Carmel ES: Marissa Burulcich

CCSD Preschool Centers: Beth Piccirilli

Cherokee HS: Rebekah Gay

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy: Jennifer Rice

Clayton ES: Jessica Wimpey

Creekland MS: Dara Yokley

Creekview HS: Wyatt Wilkie

Dean Rusk MS: Robyn West

E.T. Booth MS: Beth Nugent

Etowah HS: Lara McDonald

Free Home ES: Kim Fowler

Freedom MS: Cat Klingbeil

Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Kate Bruner

Hickory Flat ES: Dara Gramling

Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Cathy Hazzard

Indian Knoll ES: Jason Bermudez

Johnston ES: Cristina Markley

Knox ES STEM Academy: Nina Eidson

Liberty ES: Mike Rostin

Little River ES: Josh Sams

Macedonia ES: Elizabeth Coker

Mill Creek MS: Angie Graves

Mountain Road ES: Dr. Lorie Mick 

Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy: Charm Cochran

R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy: Whitney Tippens

River Ridge HS: David Harrison

Sequoyah HS: Jennifer Loudermilk

Sixes ES: Melissa Perryman

Teasley MS: Cody Lamanac

Tippens Education Center: Valerie Dunn

Woodstock ES: Molly Niemeir

Woodstock HS: Lauren Cannon

Woodstock MS: Amanda Anderson