Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Announces 2022 School Teacher of the Year Winners

CCSD Announces 2022 School Teacher of the Year Winners

Congratulations to the Cherokee County School District’s 2022 School Teachers of the Year winners!

Every fall, each CCSD school is asked to select its own Teacher of the Year.  These school-level winners now are eligible for the honor of Cherokee County School District 2022 Teacher of the Year. 
The Districtwide competition will be judged by a panel of retired educators and community partners based on applications submitted by the school-level winners.  Four CCSD Finalists then will be announced by the Superintendent of Schools.  They, along with all school winners, will be honored at the Legacy Makers: CCSD Teachers of the Year Celebration in the spring ... at which the CCSD 2022 Teacher of the Year will be announced.  The overall CCSD winner will be entered into the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition.

“Each one of these honorees has been selected by his or her peers in recognition of their excellence as educators – they are the best of the best,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “The School Board joins me in thanking them for the dedication, innovation and care they show every day in the classroom and throughout our community that earned them this award.  We appreciate you and look forward to celebrating you in the spring!” 
The annual Legacy Makers celebration, and gifts presented to the honorees, are sponsored by Presenting Sponsors: Cherokee County Educational Foundation, Credit Union of Georgia, Northside Hospital Cherokee and Shottenkirk Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram of Canton.  Additional financial and in-kind sponsorship opportunities are available; interested businesses and organizations are encouraged to please contact Penny Dempsey at or 770.479.1871.

CCSD 2021-22 School Teachers of the Year

ACTIVE Academies: Whitney Robinson
Arnold Mill ES: Alisha Talley
Avery ES: Heather Massey
Ball Ground ES STEM Academy: Julie Miles
Bascomb ES: Rhonda Ryder
Boston ES: Debbie Howell
Carmel ES: Jessica Million
CCSD Preschool Centers: Catrina Wilson
Cherokee HS: Jonathan Gustin
Clark Creek ES STEM Academy: Kim Harrison
Clayton ES: Jennifer O'Connell
Creekland MS: Jennifer Camp
Creekview HS: Janet Baggett
Dean Rusk MS: DeLaney Campbell
E.T. Booth MS: Lori Salvino
Etowah HS: Margo Kemmerer
Free Home ES: Kristin Davis
Freedom MS: Kim Hester
Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Allison Hawkins
Hickory Flat ES: Gina Haggerty
Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Karen Schnell
Indian Knoll ES: Tara Costello
Johnston ES: Paige Chandler
Knox ES STEM Academy: Christina Parker
Liberty ES: Heather Juras
Little River ES: Emily Mickel
Macedonia ES: Barbara Scharich
Mill Creek MS: Amanda Carter
Mountain Road ES: Kristin Covington
Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy: Ally Potter
R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy: Lesley Carmichael
River Ridge HS: Tara Dugan
Sequoyah HS: Andrew Oberlies
Sixes ES: Lauren Grimsley
Teasley MS: Kerry Voytek
Tippens Education Center: Margie Pullen
Woodstock ES: Danielle Cosey
Woodstock HS: Henry Oglesby Jr.
Woodstock MS: Justin Brown