Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Thank You to Our School Board!

Thank You to Our School Board!

It's School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia, and we're so thankful for our Cherokee County School Board!

The school board is made up of six members elected by posts and a chair who is elected countywide.  They are: Chair Kyla Cromer of BridgeMill, District 1 member Kelly Poole of BridgeMill, District 2 member Patsy Jordan of Yellow Creek, District 3 member John Harmon of Hickory Flat,  District 4 member Robert “Rick Steiner” Rechsteiner of southwest Cherokee, District 5 member Erin Ragsdale of Towne Lake and District 6 member Dr. Susan Padgett-Harrison of Canton.

School board members serve as advocates for all children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.  

The school board holds monthly public meetings at which they handle business including approving policy changes, the annual budget, significant expenditures such as construction projects, new curriculum adoption, hiring the superintendent of schools and much more.  Board members also serve the community in many other ways, such as through participation in school activities ranging from serving as academic competition judges to volunteering as guest readers to speaking at career day events.

Our school board is award-winning, earning numerous accolades from the Georgia School Boards Association including its highest honor of Governance Team of the Year!  Learn more here.