Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Celebrates Share the Love Contest Winners

CCSD Celebrates Share the Love Contest Winners

The Cherokee County School District celebrated Valentine’s Day by surprising winners of its third annual Share the Love contest!

Thanks to the sponsorship of Credit Union of Georgia, CCSD this month gave families the opportunity to nominate their child’s teacher or a support staff member at their child’s school to win a $250 Visa gift card.  The contest was announced in the monthly CCSD Connections parent newsletter, and four winners were selected at random from all of the nominations.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower and Credit Union of Georgia Cherokee Area Business Development Manager Jason Blakey presented the gift cards and other gifts to the four winners: Teasley Middle School teacher Camille Core, Sequoyah Zone bus driver Pam Hillhouse, Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy Pre-K paraprofessional Felicia Lusega and Holly Springs ES STEM Academy teacher Emily Wilcox.

“It’s so awesome to have the opportunity to share our community’s love with these outstanding teachers and support staff,” Dr. Hightower said.  “Thank you to all the parents who submitted nominations praising our employees.  Thank you to Credit Union of Georgia for sponsoring the prizes.  Most of all, thank you to all of our employees for the love you show every day to our students!”

The drawing was at random, but CCSD asked those entering the contest to share why the person they nominated deserved special recognition.  Here are excerpts from their submissions:

Teasley Middle School teacher Camille Core

Ms. Core, who teaches chorus is new to Teasley MS this school year, was praised by parent Donell Osborne-Ziegler.  “She has done an amazing job with the Teasley Chorus.  She has show care and kindness toward my daughter who absolutely adores Ms. Core.”

Pam Hillhouse

Ms. Hillhouse, who drives bus No. B020, was thanked by Mountain Road Elementary School parent Michelle Russer.  “Ms. Pam has been in my opinion the best bus driver.  She cares about the students; she watches out for them.  She is always courteous and nice when I see her in the morning and in the afternoon.  She is a truly nice person and I feel she needs the extra love.” 

Felicia Lusega

Ms. Lusega, who also works at the school’s After School Program (ASP), was recognized by parent Jessica Bulloch.  “Ms. Lusega always has a smile on her face when I pick my daughter up from ASP.  She is loving and kind and I know my daughter can go to her with any issue.  She has helped my daughter to love school even when she is ready to go home.  She truly is a breath of fresh air.”  

Emily Wilcox

Ms. Wilcox, who teaches fourth grade, was honored by parent Ashlie Flanagan.  “She is the most caring and loving teacher.  She cares about each child and their development.”

Congratulations and thank you to all of the nominated teachers and support staff:

ACTIVE Academies

Hannah Mitchell

Arnold Mill ES

Jessica Bell

Sammi McGowan

Kammy Overacre

Alicia Perkins

Leslie Reece

Avery ES

Meleia Bridenstine

Ashley Cravens

Heather Dalton

Travis Grooms

Faren Hart

Mollie Lord

Regina Martin

Sandra McFarland

Stayce Peardon

Heather Queen

Wendy Vaccaro

Ball Ground ES STEM Academy

Brian Bawden

Haley Bramlett

Amanda Bridgewater

Terry Dionne

Emily Dobson

Carli Marinelli

Sandra Moore

Jill Mossinger

Katie Ross

Crystal Simpson

Dr. Lora Smith

Bascomb ES

Jordan Cofer

Emily Lacey

Alexis Lents

Bettina Miller

Matt Moore

Jeff Orr

Melissa Riddle

Mackenzie Wallace

Boston ES

Jenna Ferretiz

Carolyn Halloran

Jennifer Jones

Shania Holmes

Sharon Sullivan

Stephanie Webber

Carmel ES

Savannah Beach

Lulu Busby

Amanda Coons

Evelize Rosario-Sanchez

Heidi Sansone

Sheila Sanchez

CCSD Preschool Centers

Courtney Cowart

Starling “Ms. Star” Dupree

Cherokee HS

Garrick Cheyne

Brad Ellis

Dawn Small

Madison Smith

Lisa Trayler

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy

Kenlie Abernathy

Livi Ávila

Lisa Boysen

Ashlyn Dever

Joy Harrison

Patricia Millwood

Joey Moss

Alexandria O’Leary

Nancy Stephan

Clayton ES

Brandy Henson

Jennifer O’Connell

Creekland MS

Brian Bawden

Jennifer Denereaz

Jennifer Camp

Lindsay Cantley

Jason Hardin

Jeff Imperial

Marleigh O’Weger

Stephanie Ray

Emma Riddle

Elijah Rollman

Kristie Sikes

Dr. Kurt Wheeler

Angela Wilson

Dean Rusk MS

Lia Bobo

Misty Harper


Sydney Kyle

Keisha Morris

David Pitts

Amanda Young

E.T. Booth MS

Emily Everton

Michelle Torson

Dr. Judy Wright

Etowah HS

Amy Blanchard

Dr. Rachel Bourne

Reg Jackson

Megan King

Shawn Lisle

Free Home ES

Sharon Borg

Kim Fowler

Katie Garrison

Sarah McGilvray

Cindy Satterfield

Gabbie Wheeler

Freedom MS

Michelle Johnson

Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy

Aden Esposito

Jessica Johnson

Felicia Lusega

Nicole Smith

Hickory Flat ES

Jessie Almand

Jennifer Bledsoe

Beth Rogers

Carrie Stewart

Stacey Thompson

Rebecca Wooten

Holly Springs ES STEM Academy

Kristie Barker

Chelsea Chandler

Ashley Collinsworth

Macie Davis

Carolyn Free

Melina Henry

Kimberly Kell

Amber Millwood

Jocelyn Rauhuff

Karen Schnell

Samantha Ulrich

Emily Wilcox

Indian Knoll ES

Danielle Gantt

Kristen Giemzik

Allison Heath

Sara Kirkpatrick

Catalina McCauley

Amanda McGarity

Heather Towery

Johnston ES

Cristina Markley

Darryl Moore

Josh Philpot

Brittany Scanlon

Tara Tucci

Knox ES STEM Academy

Robin Barnhorn

Jennifer Garrison

Abigail Harper

Kristin Mondich

Bailey Stowe

Dawn Wintemute

Liberty ES

Riley Burns

Jessica Deluca

Meredith Dotson

Tracie Jordan

Heather Juras

Amy Manzella

Dr. Margy McCown

Sherry Recchio

Little River ES

Diane Roberts

Savannah Sanders

Susanne Whitney

Macedonia ES

Robin Ballew

Donna Boggis

Mill Creek MS

Lelok Bessada

Terra Foster

Heather Pappas

Mountain Road ES

Deidre Anderson

Jessica Cabrera

Leah Crump

Lauren Hall

Kelly Haymond

Pam Hillhouse

Meg Martin

Mayra Pérez

Kristy Reidy

Tina Rogers

Oak Grove ES STEAM Academy

Susan Beavers

Taylore Belcher

Jennifer Hickey Broder

Lisa Graziano

R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy

Rob Baglio

Whitney Barker

Carol Caviness

Earl Ehrie

Leisha Hawkins

Penny Jackson

Mandy Koch

Jesica Magardo

Melissa Roper

Jade Seery

River Ridge HS

Lee Banks

Chelsea Belli

Briawnna Brown

Jessica Camp

Tiffany Davenport

Tony Giles

Cali Mondello

Matt Rice

Ansley Sand

Sequoyah HS

Andrea Ellis

Jack Graber

Daniel Macfarlane

Brad Mann

Karrie Mattice

Chana Miller

Dr. Cathy Murphy

Fallan Patterson

Madison Shlyakhetko

Kristin B. Witty

Sixes ES

Katie Blanchard

Christina McCrary

Teasley MS

Antonio Chisman

Camille Core

Alice Lamb

Tim Lewis

Dr. Carlos Marrero

Brian Puckett

Scott Nolan

Phyllis “Ms. Phee” Waddell

Tippens EC

Dawn Beasley

Rebecca Geronimus

Nadira Lakeram

Jennifer Lester

Woodstock ES

Brenda Edwards

Katie Grooms

Jessenia Nunez

Ashley See

Woodstock HS

Joshua Astarita

Kelly Baglio

Ashley Dexter

Nicole Korsch

Bob Loehr

Kim McWhorter

Tammy Owen

Karen Rigsby

Amy Campell Walker

Woodstock MS

Christopher Boberg

Cory Neill

Melissa Ryan